July 10, 2013 Prayers of the Faithful

Do you have a favorite prayer? Is there a phrase or blessing that you repeat regularly, especially when you are lost for words at the feet of your Divine Maker and still feel compelled to speak? Luckily, God has shared with us many of his faithful followers and their prayers. Their words often times fill the need, the void, and give strength to the soul while connecting our spirits to our Creator. Gifts from God!

To be perfectly honest, I’m a fan. Sure, I like to speak to God directly from my heart or sit down and write out my own words, words given to me by God, words I heard spoken from another, or words that come from a broken, human spirit….but sometimes, words fail me (sitting in silence allows us to listen to God. Do not feel that you must always have something to say. God will put words on your heart if they are needed as you place yourself before him.)  Sometimes my mind and heart need a little oomph, a little encouragement. Today, I offer you a few of my favorites….when I am lost for words ( I know, I know—when am I ever lost for words!) and need a little push opening my heart to my Savior. Some of these are “newer” prayers while some are directly from scripture. Please read all the way through to the end of the post, and then with your Bible, look up the last few.

When I am about to eat or am preparing food…

“Bless, oh Lord, this food to our use, and us to thine loving service. And keep us ever mindful of the needs of others, through Christ our Lord.  Amen.”

 

The Prayer of St. Francis—committing your heart and soul to Christ’s work

Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace.

Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

Where there is injury, pardon;

Where there is doubt, faith;

Where there is despair, hope;

Where there is darkness, light;

Where there is sadness, joy.

 

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;

To be understood as to understand;

To be loved as to love.

 

For it is in giving that we receive;

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen.

 

A Scottish Blessing….

Personally, this is one of my all-time favorites. Part of it is my cultural ancestry. Part of it is the poetry of the prayer. (Plus, I really love nature) Part of it is that I feel the writer had discovered the spirit of the living God burning inside his soul, and attempting (in human fashion) to relate a passion for life, a spirit of Grace, and restoration to his people through an eternal, living God wrote these words.  I will often personalize it….Lord, may the blessing of your light be upon me….may your blessed light shine on me like a great peat fire, etc. (people are drawn to the light of our Lord!).

May the blessing of light be upon you — light without and light within. May the blessed sunlight shine on you like a great peat fire, so that stranger and friend may come and warm himself at it. And may the light shine out of the two eyes of you, like a candle in the window of a house, bidding the wanderer to come in out of the storm.

 And may the blessing of rain be upon you—may it beat upon your Spirit and wash it fair and clean, and leave there a shining pool where the blue of Heaven shines, and sometimes a star.

 And may the blessing of the earth be upon you, soft under your feet as you pass along the roads, soft under you as you lie out on it, tired at the end of the day; and may it rest easy over you when, at last, you lie out under it. May it rest so lightly over you that your soul may be out from under it quickly; up and off and on its way to God.

 And now, may the Lord bless you, and bless you kindly. Amen.

 

This next one I will let speak for itself. I have not suffered nearly what many of the faithful have. But to offer your heart in the smallest suffering, to offer your soul to your Savior and give him praise is a hard lesson for most of us to learn. This particular prayer, while listed as written by “Anonymous,” was pulled from an old Presbyterian Planner. It tugs at my heart so much so that I have it pinned to the wall by my front door, so that I must see it every day as I enter into the world.

To our eternal and faithful shepherd, the Lord Jesus Christ:

Shepherd, I bless you for what you give me. If nothing you give me, I also do bless you.

 I follow you laughing through roses and thorns, through brambles and thistles I joyously follow.

With you when there’s plenty, with you when I want.

Still always with you.

 

Now it’s time to do a little Scripture reading.

These are just a few of the prayers in the Bible:

By Paul :

Colossians 1:9-12

Ephesians 3:14-21 ( I just LOVE Paul’s Words at the end of this passage)

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 1:15-23

I encourage you to continue looking up and researching prayers. The Lord himself offered up prayers to our Heavenly Father. Words of passion, beauty, and life. Most of us know “the Lord’s Prayer” by heart. If not, now’s a great time to commit it to memory.

What is your favorite prayer? Is there a particular word from Scripture, from God’s faithful followers that speaks to your heart? Have you heard someone pray so honestly that the connection between themselves and God still rings in your ears?

We pray because we believe that God hears us.  With that being said, may you be filled with prayer, body and soul! Amen!

Leave a Reply

